Follow by Email

Monday, May 19, 2008

From SPRC: Suicide Prevention in Rural Areas Webcast

Those of you involved in suicide prevention in rural areas may find this upcoming webcast informative and relevant.

Please plan to join the Federal Interagency Rural Behavioral Health Workgroup in collaboration with the Technical Assistance Partnership and the National Center for Mental Health Promotion and Youth Violence Prevention in our upcoming Webinar entitled, Bridging the Gap in Rural Communities: Accessing Behavioral Health Services Through Telehealth.

Date: Friday, May 30, 2008

Time: 1:00–2:30 p.m. ET (12:00–1:30p.m. CT, 11:00–12:30p.m. MT, 10:00–11:30a.m. PT, 7:00–8:30 a.m. Hawaii)

Children, youth, and families living in rural and frontier communities face significant disparities in access to quality behavioral health services. Presenters will share an innovative model for using telecommunications to reach children, youth, and families in rural Appalachia, Ohio, Kansas, and in other rural locations. Participants will learn about how technology is used for telepsychiatry, tele-psychotherapy, clinical supervision, case consultations, workforce development and management functions to enhance behavioral health services for children, youth, and their families. Challenges, opportunities, and considerations for the implementation of telehealth services will also be discussed. Telehealth processes hold great promise for rural and frontier communities working to improve access, acceptability, and availability of behavioral health services and supports. We want this event to be as interactive as possible, so please bring all your examples, considerations, and questions!

Presenters:
Steve Trout, Executive Director, Southern Consortium for Children, Athens, Ohio
Eve-Lynn Nelson, Assistant Director of the Kansas University Center for Telemedicine & Telehealth

Facilitator:
Joyce Sebian, Senior Policy Associate, National Technical Assistance Center for Children’s Mental Health at Georgetown University and coordinator for SAMHSA National Rural Behavioral Health
Viewing Requirements:

Joining this event is easy and free! All you need is access to a phone and an internet connection.
Registration
Register today at: https://tapartnership.on.intercall.com/confmgr/event_register.jsp?eventId=65644
PLEASE NOTE THAT REGISTRATION WILL CLOSE 24 HOURS BEFORE THE EVENT

If you are a first-time registrant, we recommend that you use the following guidelines for creating a username and password:

Username: firstname.lastname. For example, John Smith's username would be john.smith
Password: lastname.yearofbirth. For example, if Jane Smith were born in 1960, her password would be smith1960

Questions:
If you have any questions or concerns, contact Tiara Etheridge by e-mail at tetheridge@air.org or by phone at (202) 403-5932. You can also take a look at “TA Partnership Webinar Frequently-Asked Questions” located online at http://www.tapartnership.org/learning_opp/webinars_howto.asp .

No comments: